Book : The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

“… … I know now what matters, and it is not what I have lost. It is my memories. Wounds heal. Love lasts.                     We remain.”

These are the last words in the novel. These are some of the words in the book that brought tears to my eyes.

This book, the latest (published in 2015) of 22 novels by one of my favourite authors, is so wonderfully written, packed with action and full of emotions that it took me longer than expected (almost 2 weeks) to read because I had to pause often when tears blurred the words or when I replayed scenes in my head or when I just had to put it aside for a few days for my feelings to “settle”. It is a story that will stay with me for a very long time.

This novel is about two sisters who paid terrible, unimaginable prices for their heroism during World War II: One,  whose bravery and courage helped many downed airmen escape the Nazi-occupied France through treacherous conditions and her sister who saved Jewish children, putting herself in danger.

No doube there were differences between the two sisters as they were growing up, but the war put the strength of their relationship to test. With life changing, and confronted by unspeakable horrors, the sisters respond in unexpected ways, as bravery and reisistence take different forms for each of them.

There is atrocity during the war years, but the story also tells of humanity and courage. It is an unforgettable novel that will provoke a lot of thought and discussion.

Leave a Reply

