Wealth from Within

wealth

I was pleasantly surprised to come across this Singaporean book by Kathryn Lim. What first caught my attention was the size and the cover. I was also drawn to its design and packaging. The book is only about 150 pages and 3 cm thick, but it packs a lot of inspirational and caring thoughts, insights and knowledge about the inner self (the ‘wealth from within’) with lovely photographs and illustrations, with the 50 chapters arranged in alphabetical order from Appreciation to Want.

Some beautiful quotes included are:

  • Appreciation is a wonderful thing. It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well. (Voltaire)
  • Courage is the finest of human qualities because it guarantees all the others. (Winston Churchill)
  • The tragedy of life is not death, rather, it is what we allow to die within us while we live. (Norman Cousins)
  • I want to live, I want to grow, I want to see, I want to know, I want to share what I can give, I want to be, I want to live. (John Lennon)

Lim has written a number of poems including those about the sky, about the silent bond of trust, about friendship, love and fear, but my favourite is the one by Robert Frost titled ‘The Road Not Taken’ in the chapter about Life.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

