Stay With Me

I’m just a woman who needs love;

I don’t want you to leave, my love.

I’m like a cat licking its wounds

on a rumpled white bedsheet.

Whose burnt cigarette is by the window sill?

And whose umbrella is sheltering you from rain?

Is it the rain or are these tears?

Is it paradise or am I in an abyss?

When the dampness evaporates,

A layer of sadness remains.

I’m just pretending to be brave

though the heart beats a wild tattoo.

I’ll bear another season of darkness

And ward off regret till the end of dimness.

Leave a Reply

