The Martian

This 2015 is based on a bestselling novel by Andy Weir and stars Matt Damon as astronaut Mark Watney who is presumed dead and left behind by his crew during a mission to Mars.

I would usually watch a Matt Damon movie at the cinema because I like his acting, but I I gave this one a miss because I thought the subject was something I completely couldn’t relate to. I can’t imagine reading the book either. I think I would have found it very boring.

The only thing I liked about this movie is the music, especially the songs by Donna Summer: Hot Stuff and I Will Survive (which I thought was used most appropriately in showing Watney’s many ways to survive on a barren planet with meagre supplies), David Bowie’s Starman and ABBA’s Waterloo. Credit must be given to the crew for the Special and Visual Effects.

The message that came across is : Every human being has a basic instinct – to survive. You take a step and then another. Each step will bring you closer to your dream; carry on, and one day you’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

