Elvis & Nixon

The only reason I borrowed this 2016 DVD is that I remember telling myself to watch Kevin Spacey, one of my favourite actors, in a movie that I’d deliberaely not watach on the big screen.

Though it is based on a true story, and the photograph of Elvis Presely and President Nixon at the White House is the single most requested photograph in the National Archives, the only thing I enjoyed was Spacey’s performance. He is really an amazing actor. His portrayal of Nixon is so accurate that I doube any other actor could have done a better job.

I did not find any humour in Elvis showing up at the White House to request a meeting with the President. And I wonder why music by Blood, Sweat & Tears (‘Spinning Wheel’), Creedence Clearwater Revival (‘Suzie Q’) and Ottis Redding (‘Hard to Handle’) are used instead of songs by the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll himself.

Leave a Reply

