Reach Me

 

Not that I’m a fan of Sylvester Stallone, but he is the only reason I borrowed this 2014 DVD. I’ve never heard of the rest of the cast and I’ve never heard of this movie before. I wasn’t too disappointed that I found it to be dull; at least, there are some great photography of places like Phoenix in Arizona (El Segundo) and Blythe in California (Redondo Beach). Some (at least 3) of the songs (I counted 22) are nice too, though I’ve never heard them before and unlikely to come across any of them again.

That the story is not great is not as bad as the pace and the delivery of it:

A  motivational book (called ‘Reach Me’) has gone viral. It is written by a reclusive author Teddy Raymon (Tom Berenger) who refuses to come out of his hiding. The book gains popularity and inspired a group of people (including a former inmate, a hip-hop mogul, an actor, an undercover cop, his Priest and a mobster). Gerald (Sylvester Stallone), editor of a Tabloid, sends a young journalist (who wants to write the Great American Novel) to find Raymon.

There are quite a few scenes that involve fighting, so there are obviously stuntmen and special/visual effects, so I thought the scene that has Stallone painting was also not real until I saw in the End Credits that the book cover (‘Reach Me’) is painted by him. I would not have believed it if I had not seen it for myself.

Leave a Reply

