Every Three Hours

everythreehours

I read Chris Mooney for the first time only because this book, Every Three Hours, has been standing on my book shelf for a long time and I’m running out of things to read since I’m still housebound. I wouldn’t have bothered if I had gone on the internet and found out that this is the sixth installment in a series. (I didn’t realise this from the blurb.)

The story: Darby McCormick is a forensic investigator who is lured back to her hometown to help solve a cold case. Before she could do that, she is confronted by a stand-off  with a man who has explosives strapped to himself  and has taken a pregnant woman hostage. Other bombs are hidden around the city, rigged to explode every three hours, until he gets what he wants…

Perhaps I might have enjoyed this book better if I had gotten to know the characters through the earlier books in the series. I seemed to get a bit lost towards the middle. And then I lost interest.

I’ll be sure to pick my books carefully in future.

Leave a comment